I Want A Haircut

I have been going back and forth on this.

For the major part of my life, I have had long hair – still do (‘long’ is one-third way down my back).

But for major parts of my life, I have also wanted to get it shortened. But now – right before the biggest assessment of my life (I’m dramatic) – I need it most intensely. I want short hair!

It saves time – it saves my effort – it indirectly guarantees better grades by omitting the long shower sessions. It is a win-win situation.

I want to renounce my small role in its care-taking and use that extra patience to study (ideally). Fine – even if not to study, some extra patience won’t hurt, right? I could be productive – organize the book spread in my room. It is seriously distracting.

Getting back to the point, I want short hair – ruffled and fun.

But who stands in the way of me getting it despite my surprising conviction (I am humorously fickle) in the matter? My beautiful mother.

She is the reason I’ve had long hair most of my life. She loves those healthy but wastefully(no offence) long tresses, excitedly pointing to women with them, in hopes of buying me into the idea. She knows that my idea of hair is of the minimal yet sufficient but being the Indian parent that she is, she reaffirms her control by making me keep the long hair. I don’t particularly mind, except for now.

And as cute as she is, convincing her shouldn’t be impossible.

It is I who is wavering on the overwhelming immediacy of the need because I wouldn’t want to be impulsive. The comfort secretly wrapped in my stress laden hair is but too familiar. Getting them chopped off might add to stress – you never know.

Well, I couldn’t know by staying put and maybe it is time I venture out of my comfort zone. What say?

#shorthair

Know any good places where I can bid adieu to the hair?

Leave a comment